Leadership Courses


Bronze Star (CPR-A)

In Bronze Star, participants develop problem-solving and decision-making skills as individuals and as partners. They learn cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), develop confidence and the lifesaving skills needed to be a lifesaver.
* recommended at least 10 or 11yrs or completed Star Patrol, min requirement is a strong swimmer.

Bronze Medallion (EFA, CPR-B)

The Bronze Medallion award teaches an understanding of the lifesaving principles embodied in the four components of water rescue education: judgment, knowledge, skill, and fitness.

Rescuers learn tows and carries, and defence & release methods in preparation for challenging rescues of increased risk, involving conscious and unconscious victims of various types. Participants also develop stroke efficiency and endurance in timed swims. As well as treatment skills for many circulatory emergencies.
* must be 13yrs OR held Bronze Star award, experienced swimmer.

Bronze Cross (CPR-C)

Designed for lifesavers who want the challenge of more advanced training, including an introduction to safe supervision in aquatic environments. Students learn the differences between lifeguarding and lifesaving while continuing to develop the basic principles of emergency procedures and teamwork. Lifesavers further increase their stroke efficiency, fitness and endurance

Bronze Cross is a prerequisite for all advanced training programs, including Lifesaving Instructor, National Lifeguard Service, and Distinction certification.
* must have held Bronze Medallion award

Standard First Aid w/ AED (CPR-C)

Teaches the care of injuries and illnesses, including how to treat pulseless victims and basic life support skills. Emphasis is placed on vital signs, priority assessment and basic emergency care principles. Treatment of bleeding, burns, fractures, heat & cold emergencies, seizures, diabetes, poisoning, head & spinal injuries, etc. Automated External Defibrillator (AED) training is included. This course includes the First Aid & CPR Guidelines and meets OH&S regulations for Basic First Aid.

National Lifeguard Service

Recognized as the standard measure of lifeguard performance in Canada, NLS education is designed to develop a sound understanding of lifeguarding principles, good judgment, and a mature and responsible attitude toward the role of the lifeguard.
The primary role of the NLS lifeguard is the prevention of emergency situations and, where this fails, the timely and effective resolution of emergencies. The NLS award is designed to prepare lifeguards to fulfill this role as professional facilitators of safe, enjoyable aquatics.
* must be 16yrs and held the Bronze Cross award with a current Standard First Aid Certificate.

Lifesaving Instructor (LSI)

Certifies you teach CPR, Bronze Medallion, Bronze Cross and Distinction, Lifesaving Fitness awards, and Lifesaving swimming lessons. It teaches candidates how to develop the practical skills and knowledge required to safely teach others how to perform a water rescue or provide assistance. Lifesaving Instructor education is designed to develop a sound understanding of lifesaving principles, good judgment and a mature and responsible attitude toward the care of a distressed person(s). You will be teaching and training future heroes!
* must be 16 yrs and hold current Bronze Cross award, well practiced strokes.

Water Safety Instructor (WSI)

Prepares candidates to instruct the Red Cross Swim Kids lessons. Teaches candidates how to deliver knowledge, skills, and experiences to future swimmers; safety supervision, class management, teaching, communication, evaluation and leadership.
* must be 15 yrs and complete AWSI